Skip to Content Skip to Menu
Ohio Assessments for Educators

What Assessments Do I Need to Take?

Ohio Assessments for Educators: Initial Licensure

The following table maps each Ohio licensure type to its corresponding assessment in the OAE: Initial Licensure program.

What Assessments Do I Need to Take?

For more information regarding Ohio licensure requirements, visit the Educator LicensesLink opens in a new window. page on the Ohio Department of Education website.

Foundations of Reading Test for Ohio

In accordance with Ohio's new educator licensure requirements, beginning July 1, 2017, new educator licenses issued in several licensing areas shall require the applicant to attain a passing score on an examination of the principles of scientifically research-based reading instruction that is aligned with the reading competencies adopted by the State Board of Education of Ohio. Educator candidates in Ohio will successfully complete the Foundations of Reading test to satisfy this new requirement.

The State Board of Education of Ohio has approved the Foundations of Reading test as a requirement for the following licensing areas, effective July 1, 2017:

  • Early childhood
  • Middle childhood
  • Gifted
  • Mild/moderate educational needs
  • Moderate/intensive educational needs
  • Visually impaired
  • Hearing impaired
  • Early childhood intervention specialist